## Meeting of the Board of Education Flora Community Unit School District #35 March 15, 2021 - Administration Office 5:30 p.m.

Members Present: McCoy, Leib, Porter, Cook, Brooks, Wiley, Dunahee

Administration Present: Hackney, T. Pearce, Pearce, Carder, McNeely

Guests: None

Media: Mary Maxwell

Call to Order: 5:30 p.m.

1. Motion Leib, seconded by Brooks to approve the Consent Agenda: Minutes of the February 17, 2021 meeting, Bills, Activity Account Statements, Treasurer's Report, IHSA membership for 2021-2022. Lease agreement between the City of Flora and CUSD #35 for use of recreational facilities, Roll call: Unanimous

## RECOGNITION OF COMMENTS BY EMPLOYEES AND FROM THE PUBLIC

## **NEW BOARD BUSINESS**

- 1. Motion Leib, seconded by Porter to approve setting Wednesday, August 4<sup>th</sup> from 9:00-7:00 as registration date for the 2021-2022 school year. Roll call: Cook, yes; McCoy, yes; Porter, yes; Wiley, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes; Brooks, yes.
- 2. Motion Wiley, seconded by Brooks, to approve school fees for the 2021-2022 school year as presented. Roll Call: Porter, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Cook, yes; Wiley, yes; Leib, yes.
- 3. Committee Reports: Superintendent Hackney reported that the technology committee met on March 15<sup>th</sup>, the CAC will meet on March 31<sup>st</sup> and the Evaluation Committee will meet on April 9<sup>th</sup>.

## 4. Administrator Reports:

Mrs. Pearce: Book fair in April, April 12-14 is Pre-School Screenings and preparing for the Aims Web Benchmark. Kindergarten Patriotic program posted on facebook and website.

Mrs. Carder: April 19-23 State Testing, April 7-8 Science Assessment, 3<sup>rd</sup> grade recorder concert.

Mrs. Leonard: Discussed outside graduation at football field for May 9<sup>th</sup> possible rain date of Monday night.

T. Pearce: SAT April 13<sup>th</sup>, Fresh/Soph and Seniors will be remote, April 14 taking Illinois Science Assessment, April 16 Homecoming King/Queen court and game activities.

Hackney: Highlighted the ROE compliance visit on March 11<sup>th</sup> and the end of the quarter on March 12<sup>th</sup>.

- 5. Motion Brooks, seconded by Wiley, to adopt the resolution approving the honorable dismissal of non-certified teaching assistants Amanda Deters, Jordyn Strange, Amy Kitley, Nicole Allen, Tatiana Schlief, Emily Blackwell, Lauren Buchanan, Tammy Martin, Wanda Schewe, Deirdre Klein, Tammy Williams, Rebecca Larch, Chrissy Taylor, Diana Patterson. Roll Call: Porter, yes; Cook, yes; Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes.
- 6. Motion Dunahee seconded by Leib, to adopt the resolution approving the honorable dismissal of non-certified transportation assistants Adara Williams, Cami Lusk, Linda Ackerson, and Christy Rascher. Roll Call: Cook, yes; McCoy, yes; Porter, yes; Wiley, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes; Brooks, yes.
- 7. Motion Porter, seconded by Cook, to adopt the resolution approving the honorable release of Pre-K Coordinator/Parent Educator Emily Glassford, Pre K PI Supervisor/Parent Educator Cindy Leib, Pre-K Parent Educator Kaitlyn Eade, and Pre-K Parent Educator Rebecca Williams. Roll call: Porter, yes; Cook, yes; Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes.
- 8. Motion, McCoy seconded by Leib, to re-employ first year non-tenured teachers Amy Herdes, Christina Wilson, Kara Grafton, Daniel Pieplow, Michelle Pietz, Alana Snider, Rebecca Hertenstine, Heather Dunn, Bailey Pearce, Erin Borcherding, Brooke Bayles, Tasha Thompson, and Elizabeth Wilkinson. Roll call: Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes; Cook; yes; Porter, yes.
- 9. Motion Brooks, seconded by Dunahee to re-employ second year non-tenured teachers Stephanie Simmons, Emma Forth, Anna Maloy, Kelsey Cox. Roll call: Porter, yes; Cook, yes; Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes;

- 10. Motion, Wiley seconded by Cook, to re-employ third year non-tenured teachers Jessica Crawford, Amy Britton, Jennifer Fritcher, Rachel Webb. Roll call: Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes. Porter, yes; Cook yes.
- 11. Motion McCoy, seconded by Leib, to re-employ fourth year non-tenured teachers and place on tenure: Monica Grove, Meredith Milligan, Stephanie Slankard, Mandy Thompson, Terry Branch, Jena Combs, Kaley Felax. Roll call: Porter, yes; Cook, yes; Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes.
- 12. Motion Porter, seconded by Brooks, to re-employ part-time teachers John Upton, Karla Keck, Paige Earleywine, and Patti Peters. Roll call: Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes; Cook; yes; Porter, yes.
- 13. Motion Dunahee, seconded by Wiley, to approve the extended contracts for John Winters-9 days; Terry Branch-10 days; Kelli Massie-10 days; Rebecca Hertenstine-5 days; and Bryan Ridge, Kim Scarborough, Ryan Spicer, and Alana Snider on an as needed basis. Roll call: Brooks, yes; Wiley, yes; Cook, yes; McCoy; yes; Porter, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes.
- 14. Motion Cook seconded by McCoy, to re-employ Heather Durre as Technology Coordinator, Lee Melton as technology maintenance, Tonya Behnke as Special Education Coordinator, Frank Lusk as Transportation Director/Mechanic, and Bob Johnson as Maintenance Director with salaries to be determined. Roll call: Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes. Porter, yes; Cook yes.
- 15. Motion, Leib seconded by Porter, to re-employ Julie Pearce, Leslie Carder, Amy Leonard, Toby Pearce, Bob McNeely, and Dean of Students/JH Athletic Director John Winters with salaries to be determined. Roll call: Porter, yes; Cook, yes; Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes.
- Motion Brooks, seconded by Dunahee, to re-employ the following non-certified teaching assistants for the 2021-2022 school year: Jennifer Ayers, Carrie Durre, Kayla Steele, Penny Grubaugh, Cathy Taylor, Joy McKnelly, Joanie Thompson. Roll call: Brooks, yes; Wiley, yes; Cook, yes; McCoy; yes; Porter, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes.
- 17. Motion Wiley, seconded by Cook, to approve the non-contract/non-certified wages for 2021-2022 as presented. Roll Call: Cook, yes; McCoy; yes; Porter, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes; Wiley, yes; Brooks, yes.
- 18. Motion McCoy, seconded by Leib, to approve Michelle Pietz and Mary Warren as 6<sup>th</sup> grade girls' basketball coaches for the 2021 season. Roll Call: Porter, yes; Cook, yes; Wiley, yes; Dunahee, yes; McCoy, yes; Brooks, yes; Leib, yes.

- 19. Motion Porter, seconded by Brooks, to accept the resignation submitted by Jodi West effective the end of the 2020-2021 school year. Roll Call: Brooks, yes; Wiley, yes; Cook, yes; McCoy; yes; Porter, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes.
- 20. The Board acknowledged the FMLA leave request submitted by Kelsey Cox beginning May 1, 2021.
- 21. Motion Dunahee, seconded by Wiley, to employ Hannah Spain as FHS agriculture teacher for the 2021-2022 school year. Roll Call: Brooks, yes; McCoy, yes; Porter, yes; Wiley, yes; Cook, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes.
- 22. Motion Cook, seconded by McCoy, to accept the letter of resignation submitted by Aaron Cox. Roll Call: Brooks, yes; Wiley, yes; Cook, yes; McCoy; yes; Porter, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes.
- 23. Motion Leib, seconded by Porter, to accept the letter of resignation submitted by Tracy Atwood effective the end of the 2020-2201 school year. Roll Call: Cook, yes; McCoy; yes; Porter, yes; Leib, yes; Dunahee, yes; Wiley, yes; Brooks, yes.
- 24. Motion Leib, seconded by Porte3r, to adjourn the meeting at (7:25 p.m.). All ayes. Motion carried.

President Signature/Date	Secretary Signature/Date